Baby steps in a spacesuit 4: in praise of Analog

Worlds Without End retweeted a post from author Robert Sawyer the other day, congratulating Analog magazine on its 1000th issue.

Seriously: 1000 issues of a classic SF monthly magazine, still going in a time where print is pauper and digital is king!

I started reading Analog – which went through several name changes over the years – in around 1969, as tatty second-hand copies sourced from my favourite paperback swap shop in the Lusaka Central Arcade.  It was easily the best of the magazines I had sampled – which included Amazing Stories, and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction – and I actually built up quite a collection, pretty much as consecutive issues, and was introduced to a multitude of amazing authors.  I remember reading Larry Niven, Poul Anderson, Ben Bova, Asimov – and many others, some of whose stories are still vividly with me, even though I have completely forgotten who wrote them.

Like the large red-haired men in kilts and feathers, who counted coup…I still haven’t found who wrote those ones.

I even corresponded with the editor, in 1978 or so: I wrote to Ben Bova, commenting negatively on the politics of John Campbell and his editorial disdain for Africa, and was unexpectedly answered by Stanley Schmidt, who had just taken over – who had actually been to Africa, and who was far more sympathetic.

So congratulations, Analog – and I hope you have many more issues!  I must start reading you again….

About Ed Rybicki

Ed is a 60-ish virologist and biotechnologist, formerly a Zambian and presently a South African. He is into family, virology, biotechnology, science in general, science fiction in particular, photography, red wine, wearing loud shirts, 70s rock, blues and smooth jazz...and telling stories. Sometimes, interesting ones. And writing for his own amusement.
This entry was posted in Books, Personal stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

