To the Father Who Thinks My Daughter is a Bad Influence

…on his son, and doesn’t want him associating with her.

Really?? My daughter is a bad influence on the boy I first met when he was so spaced at a trance festival, that his pants were round his knees, and he fell flat on his face in the dust every ten steps he took? When she delayed us going home, so she could try to look after him?

The boy about whom I had serious misgivings concerning letting him into my house, but allowed him in – many times – anyway??

The boy who, in my home, has never managed to speak more than ten words to my wife and I – despite spending many nights here, and even eating with us?

The boy who I have seen passed-out drunk at my house more than once, on booze he brought with him – while his peers were having civilised gatherings?

Sorry, friend: I think he has far bigger problems than associating with my daughter.
At least now he won’t have THAT one any more.

About Ed Rybicki

Ed is a 60-ish virologist and biotechnologist, formerly a Zambian and presently a South African. He is into family, virology, biotechnology, science in general, science fiction in particular, photography, red wine, wearing loud shirts, 70s rock, blues and smooth jazz...and telling stories. Sometimes, interesting ones. And writing for his own amusement.
This entry was posted in Personal stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

