I write like…?

I have often wondered what a critic might tell me about my literary influences – but then, what I write isn’t literature, and I am sure it is well beneath the critics’ radar anyway.

So I decided to find out myself – with the following result:

I write like
Cory Doctorow

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Who knew?? Especially as I am not actually conscious of ever having read anything by him, and rather thought that it was Cordwainer Smith, Theodore Sturgeon and Roger Zelazny that influenced my scribbles.  But so does Alan Cann write like CD, so I’m in good company  B-)

I wonder who Cory Doctorow writes like…?

About Ed Rybicki

Ed is a 60-ish virologist and biotechnologist, formerly a Zambian and presently a South African. He is into family, virology, biotechnology, science in general, science fiction in particular, photography, red wine, wearing loud shirts, 70s rock, blues and smooth jazz...and telling stories. Sometimes, interesting ones. And writing for his own amusement.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I write like…?

  1. AJ Cann says:

    This place me in a quandary. I have been reading a lot of Doctorow in the past few months, but mostly for the originality of his ideas than the quality of his writing. Hmmm.

  2. Ed Rybicki says:

    I think it is more a function of what was fed into the database to allow style recognition, than an actual resemblance. Because I don’t think I write like Doctorow either.

    But maybe you write like me…? B-)

  3. Fiona Tanzer says:

    Ed – it gets better – try out some more of your other writing. You are probably limiting yourself in the “I write like..” stakes. I have just tried out “I write like..” using bits 3 different short stories and discovered that I variously write like Jonathan Swift, Stephen King and Dan Brown! I am now waiting for publishers to beat their way to my door. Yes folks, I am the soon-to-be one-stop Everything-to-Everyman publishing phenomenon. Now if I could only bring myself to write like Jodi Picoult and other pop female writers I could be Everything to Everyone and the other writers may as well shut up shop and take up gardening!

Leave a Reply

