Again, Dear John:

Dear John;

It is a while since I wrote, in high spirits, having discovered your book F**k It, the ultimate spiritual way.  The spirits did not last, John:  The Way is hard, and not easy to follow.

Consider: when I reversed huffily, to get out of the way of a bus that should not have been on that street at all, and hit a car that was close in behind me so that I could not see it from my BFB* – I said “Fuck it!”, but truly, it was in the wrong spirit.

Again, while trying to get across traffic during a sudden evening rush in my suburb, I start to to go, and suddenly, the car I would have gone behind, brakes, and turns, so I nearly ram it.  Again I say “Fuck it!”, to the consternation of my son and his friend, and not to my soothing at all.  And do you start to see a trend here, John?  I do – driving…!

The spirit is willing, John, but weak: I try to do the serene “Fuck it!” quite frequently, and often succeed – I no longer try to kill minibus taxis misbehaving in heavy traffic [but see here for someone who does] – but as often (alas!) fail.

On the other hand, putting off work works wonderfully: I find all sorts of nicer things to do…but John, the work comes back to haunt me!  Which doubles the angst, and increases the frequency of the 4 am panic attacks for what I haven’t done.

Help me out here, John: The Way is seductive, but replete with traps, and dead-ends.  How do I make sure my career is not one of these also?

Or do I really not understand?  I fear this may be so – but I shall continue to try.

Yours in the Fuck It Way,

Ed

* = Big frikkin’ bus

About Ed Rybicki

Ed is a 60-ish virologist and biotechnologist, formerly a Zambian and presently a South African. He is into family, virology, biotechnology, science in general, science fiction in particular, photography, red wine, wearing loud shirts, 70s rock, blues and smooth jazz...and telling stories. Sometimes, interesting ones. And writing for his own amusement.
This entry was posted in Personal stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Again, Dear John:

  1. Pingback: Driving Blues | Ed Rybicki's Blog

  2. Pingback: Soothing the savage | Ed Rybicki's Blog

Leave a Reply

